I Was There: God’s Power Sprung a Leak Yesterday

The stated goal of The Servant’s Journal  is to chronicle the author’s quest to find and begin to understand God’s power nowadays. Today’s post is a special and exciting one, as it marks the first of a certain type of post. Today’s post is an “I Was There” post.

As its name implies, an “I Was There” post is an eyewitness account from the author of God’s power in action. Hopefully I will be able to write many more “I Was There” posts in the future. I’m excited to be able to write the first one right now.

Yesterday was a special day at our church. Our teenagers were away at teen camp all of last week, and they had just arrived at home Saturday, so we decided to do our Sunday services a little different. We had Sunday school and Sunday worship service as usual. Then, we had a potluck Sunday dinner in the basement. After that, we came back upstairs for some singing and testimonies.

As Sunday worship service was about to begin, it was hard not to notice that there were a lot of friends and family that we haven’t seen a long time showed up that day. The church house was packed pretty full.

Sunday school went well. Worship services had alright singing and great preaching. The potluck dinner is where it seemed something started stirring in the air.

Want Some Chicken?

And he dealt among all the people, even among the whole multitude of Israel, as well to the women as men, to every one a cake of bread, and a good piece of flesh, and a flagon of wine. .. – 2 Samuel 6:19 (KJV)

David is a picture and type of the Lord Jesus in the Old Testament. Just as David provided a good meal for his people, so too Christ paid for a meal for everyone through his church, Grace Baptist Church.

I asked a good brother friend who was standing around minding his own business (for once in his life) to help me serve chicken at the potluck. My wife runs the kitchen, and of course that means I get looped into helping serve the food. I secretly enjoy it a lot, and as soon as I asked him, the brother said sure.

So we put on the aprons, put on plastic gloves, and served the chicken. We cut up and joked the entire time. If you knew who helped me serve chicken, and you know me, you’d know what kind of trouble we could cause together. And then, towards the end of serving, something happened.

I don’t know where it came from or why, but towards the end of serving chicken, something deep inside of me almost caused me to shout the roof off for joy that I was counted worthy to serve chicken for the Lord Jesus.

I did all I could to contain it. I probably ran a temperature of about 100 trying to bolt the thing down inside of me. After everybody had their food, I got a plate and sat down to eat. It felt like a valve was opened as I couldn’t help but cry like a baby all over my food. I tried to hold back because it probably looked strange, but I could only do so much to try to not embarrass myself. After a little while, the pressure slowly lifted and I was back to my usual self. I chatted with some brothers and it was time to go back upstairs.

Who Has a Testimony?

Let the redeemed of the LORD say so, whom he hath redeemed from the hand of the enemy; – Psalm 107:2 (KJV)

We went back upstairs. After a little singing, the floor was opened up for testimonies. We were really looking for testimonies from the young people who went to camp, but mostly it was the older members who began testifying. Then it came time to have another song.

I was leading singing for that service, and as soon as I got to the pulpit, it became immediately clear that the song to sing was Amazing Grace.  As we were singing the first verse, the words began to penetrate my heart, and what happened to me in the basement started happening again.

It got to be so much I couldn’t even sing –my hand was leading the beat, but I was choked up again. When I regained composure, I looked out at the congregation, and the same thing was happening to about three or four other people. We came to the last verse of Amazing Grace, and typically in our church, we lift Bibles in the air while we sing it. As we did, the collective praise of the entire congregation became so pleasing to God that it could be felt in the air.

After the music, the floor was once again open for testimonies. But this time, one by one, the young people began testifying. Kids whose hearts we thought were frozen solid revealed how God was moving on them at camp. Other members testified, and in almost every testimony, one thing was obvious: the Lord was glorified.

And as I listened to the testimonies, something in my memory caused me to comprehend a similarity between what was happening before my eyes and the night of the greatest manifestation I’ve ever seen many years ago at a camp meeting in Michigan.

It’s Coming Closer

What’s coming closer? It seems to me that several things are getting closer: an increase in taxation, more government intrusions into our lives, less tolerance for Bible-based child rearing, persecution against “homophobe” rhetoric, the repeal of religious freedom in America, and a siphoning of American sovereignty to the UN. It seems that despite its best efforts, the Obama administration isn’t able to destroy America fast enough.

When is Jesus coming back? I don’t know. I have a hunch that it will be soon, based on technological advances and the current world economic and political climates. Will we face persecution? I don’t like to say it, but probably. Here is my belief: as more and more Baptists compromise in these wicked days, those who remain true to the Lord Jesus will see God’s power in ways that will dwarf the manifestations of the previous century.

What if the amount of God’s power available is proportionate to the degree of mankind’s  degeneration? Look around – as wicked as this world is nowadays, there is going to need to be a whole lot of God’s power to get people saved nowadays.

And I choose to believe that the power of God that I witnessed yesterday is just the beginning of much mightier manifestations to come. Its as if a dam has just sprung a leak, and that yesterday was just a small portion of what is ahead.

This is the topic of The Servant’s Journal: finding and understanding God’s power today. No man can ever be an expert on it, but we can make an effort to better understand it by knowing God’s word, and using the knowledge and experience of the previous generation to help guide us.

I look forward to many more “I Was There” entries. My prayer for the readers of The Servant’s Journal is that not only will I have manifestations of God’s power to chronicle, but that you will as well. God’s power shook a little bit  loose yesterday.

I want the Lord to know that I love him and that I’m thankful that I’m able to say “I Was There”.

For whosoever hath, to him shall be given, and he shall have more abundance: but whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken away even that he hath. – Matthew 13:12 (KJV)

About Adam Tigges

KJV Bible-believing Baptist
This entry was posted in What God Expects from Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

